• Subscribe to our blog and never miss a new post! It's easy, fun, and thrilling! (Well, it's easy - the jury's still out on the rest.) Just enter your e-mail address in the box below, then click the button.

    Join 161 other followers

A Game You Won’t Believe

The other day, while doing some research for a book I’m writing, I came across a really cool little oddity: a game from a 1924 Jose Capablanca simul in which the World Champion actually lost to an amateur in less than twenty moves.

You can find the game and my annotations on the ChessCentral Chess Knowledgebase page.

Have fun! — Steve

3 Responses

  1. Hi Steve!

    Love the blog! I also thank you for all of your various Chessbase tips!

    I wasn’t the biggest chessbase fan at first but NOW am on of their biggest fans. I am absolutely amazed at how helpful it is for almost every area of study in Chess. (although I still go old school for game collections!) Nothing beats a good chess book and a cup of coffee.

    Anyway, I was wondering if you could answer a question for me? I have Fritz 10 and want to buy the new Chessbase Rybka 4 opening book. Will the new R4 book work in Fritz 10?

    Thanks for your time!

    • Thanks, Tommy!

      The ChessBase-released version of the Rybka4 opening book is in .ctg format, which means that it’s compatible with all versions of Fritz.

  2. why can’t capablanca just capture the knight after n x e3? It seems to me that after either q x n or p x n black’s attack is finished….

Leave a Reply

